top of page
  • jcath1

Cassidy Arch, Capitol Reef NP


Rock Formation on the way to the trailhead

Capitol Reef is one of Utah's "Big 5" but it's also one of Utah's best kept secrets. It's much less crowded than Zion or Arches but just as beautiful. I had one day there because I was scheduled for a conference. I hate going anywhere and not being able to explore the area so I scheduled one day at Capitol Reef. I made the most of it. I did more in one day than most people do in three but I knew I had a list of things I wanted to do and see and only had daylight hours to get it done.


And I did it. I drove the main area of the park and did three hikes. I did not have the apps on my phone that I do now but I figure I hiked a total of 14 miles give or take. I paid for it the next day, actually the next three days, my leg muscles were SORE! I'd do it again if I had to! It was an amazing day! Below are a few pictures from around the park.



Cassidy Arch Trail was a fascinating hike with so much to see. The rock formations, different plants that I hadn't seen and the camaraderie that developed with the people I hiked with. We kept playing tag, I would pass them, they would pass me and when we all got to the arch we took pictures for each other and chatted while we took a snack break and rested. I loved it!




It was such a beautiful day, the sky was so blue! The last picture was where I learned an important lesson. Always have a backup SD card for my camera. I don't know what happened or why but the SD card wouldn't take any more pictures. The card was large enough, to this day I have no idea what happened, I'm just grateful I could get the photos off the SD card.


The arch is massive and I loved the fact that you could walk out onto it. Many arches do not allow you to go out on top. I understand why that rule is there, but it is fun to walk across them! If you are afraid of heights, you may not want to go out on it, but still do the hike!



My little tip for today if you tend to focus on the trail you're hiking on and not the scenery - look up! Look around! I am guilty of not being aware of my surroundings like I should. It's a shame to use so much energy to get to the end of a trail and miss half of what we are hiking past. I have tried to slow down and look at my surroundings over the last few years and the reward has been worth it. I've seen things I never would have seen if I kept looking at the trail and not what's around.


If you're in Capitol Reef National Park and you're up for climbing up the side of a canyon go for it! You won't be sorry!



What I'm drinking today:


This coffee from Kentucky Mountain was very tasty. Even my son, who is not a coffee connoisseur commented on how tasty it is. They have a wide variety of coffee which I appreciate in a coffee roasting company. Check them out on their website!

6 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page