top of page
jcath1

Mountain Lake Lodge



I am not a huge hotel person. I'd rather be boondocking in my car or tenting. However, there are a few hotels that I love. Mountain Lake Lodge is one of them. I took my son there for a short trip to give him a break from college. Does this hotel look familiar? If you've ever seen the movie "Dirty Dancing" it should. This is where much of the movie was filmed. It's not far from Christianburg where Virginia Tech is located. It was such a relaxing visit. There are many things you can do there, a lot of outdoor activities but my son and I just chilled. We arrived early evening and because we were both beat spent the night in our room, which was lovely.


The next morning we made our way to breakfast which was simple and tasty. After breakfast we took a leisurely stroll around the grounds. What a spectacular setting! Very relaxing. Here are some pictures.




Our stroll took about 2 hours. When we made it back to the main hotel we sat under the porch and watched the hummingbirds and their antics.



This is one of those rare hotels that I will go back to again and again. Lovely setting, helpful and attentive staff and it was fun to peruse the "Dirty Dancing" memorabilia.



Next time I go I won't be so tired and plan on participating in many of the outdoor activities.


To learn more about the Mountain Lake Lodge check out their website.



What I'm drinking:


If you spend some time to the east of I81 in the Blue Ridge Mountains there's a local coffee roaster in Floyd, VA - Red Rooster Coffee Roaster & Cafe. Pastries are fabulous, coffee is hot and tasty and worth the stop. Here's their website.





4 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page