top of page
jcath1

Breathe



We as humans tend not to breathe properly. We tend to breathe with our chest, forget to breathe, shallow breathe. Our respiratory system is a vital organ. We need to take care of our lungs.


Breathing deeply helps us in a number of ways:


- We expel toxins though our lungs. Up to 70% can be expelled through breathing. Detoxing is incredibly important to keep us healthy.

- Reduce blood pressure. I use this trick when my blood pressure is a little high, especially when I'm in the doctor's office. In between the first taking and the second, I take a few very slow deep breaths and it usually goes down by a few points.

- Reduce stress. Feeling stressed, anxious, unnerved? Take a few slow deep breaths and you should start to feel better.

- Strengthen your lungs. Strong lungs strong body. If you do deep breathing exercises your lungs will be in shape for when you really need them such as after surgery or climbing a mountain.

- Helps control pain. Concentrate on breathing and reduce your pain.

- Increase your energy. Increase your oxygen, increase your energy!

- Reduce insomnia. Can't sleep? Try concentrate on taking slow deep breaths. This helps me when I wake up at 2 am and my brain is going crazy.


There are many ways to do breathing exercises. I generally breathe in for 7 seconds, hold for 7 seconds, breathe out for 7 seconds. I do this at least four times, 3 to 4 times a day. Do a little research and see what works for you. Below is a video of the Wim Hof method. I will do this when I have time, but I don't do the ice bath! In the summer I will shut off the hot water at the end of a shower but that's as close as I'll get to being in ice. I am not a fan of cold water and I will be the first to admit I avoid it.




This is a very short introduction not done by Wim Hof. Search YouTube for more of his videos and see if his method sits well with you. See if there are other breathing techniques on YouTube that you like as well!



What I'm drinking today:


Tumeric Tea. I'm not drinking it straight, it's mixed in with my smoothie. Tumeric is great for detoxing, reducing inflammation, and is full of antioxidants. I practice what I preach. To your health! Lung health!



If you are enjoying this site without clicking off adds or dealing with popups and distractions, please visit our About page, scroll to the bottom, and make a small donation to keep this site going. Even 50 cents would be appreciated!


3 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page